How to Reuse Essential Oil Bottles

If you have been using essential oils for years like me, you have ended up with a stash of used bottles!  Hopefully you haven’t recycled them because you can REUSE them!

I will admit my first few empties, I promptly tossed in the recycling, never thinking that I could reuse the bottles.  Now that I know better, I have a huge stash of empty, clean essential oil bottles that I can use to make my own blends, make roll ons and more.

How to Reuse Essential Oil Bottles

  • Take your empty bottles and peel as much of the label off as you can.  Don’t go nuts about, just peel what comes off fairly easily.
  • Remove plastic orifice and plastic cap.
  • Place bottles, and plastic parts in a bowl of warm soapy water.
  • Let soak overnight.
  • Drain and discard soapy water and papery bits that are in the water.
  • Remove the rest of the labels from the bottles.  These should come off quite easily.  Any stubborn spots can be removed with a bit of Lemon Essential Oil (natural Goo Gone!)
  • If the bottles still have a smell, put them in a bowl of water with 1 capful of Thieves cleaner OR into a bowl of half water and half alcohol (rubbing, vodka, etc) or vinegar.  *I was amazed at how the Thieves cleaner actually worked better than the alcohol and vinegar at removing the smell.
  • Let soak overnight again.
  • Rinse and air dry.
  • Voila…clean essential oil bottles ready for you to use!

What to Do With Your Clean Essential Oil Bottles

Make your own blends.
  • I love making my own blends.  Young Living has so many awesome ones to choose from, but I have had a lot of success with sleepytime blends and our immune boosting recipe!
Make your own roll ons.
Create a travel kit of oils.
  • While you can easily purchase small bottles for travel, what a great way to reuse bottles you already have!
Make additional bottles to keep in other rooms, car, etc.
  • I don’t know about you, but I have a drawer full of oils in my kitchen.  Sometimes, I want an oil in my bathroom, my bedroom, my daughter’s room, my purse.  I can’t afford to purchase 5 bottles of every oil I use, so I use my spare bottles to put 30 drops or so and keep them where I need them!

Do you have any tips for reusing your bottles?  What do you use them for?

Leave a Reply

